Traffic Safety Information

New Jersey Graduated (Probationary) Driver's License Law

 The New Jersey Graduated Driver's License Law (N.J.S.A. 39:3-13.4), also know as Kyleigh's Law, requires that permit and probationary driver's license holders comply with the following restrictions:

  • Do not operate a motor vehicle between 11:01pm and 5:00am
  • Transport only one (1) non-related passenger in the vehicle
  • Do not use any wireless device (hand held or hands-free) while driving
  • Require all passengers to wear seat belts
  • Display a NJ MVC-issued decal on the vehicle's front and rear license plates
  • Do not plea bargain any point-carrying motor vehicle offense

Click here for additional information and frequently asked questions about the Graduated Driver's License.

 New Jersey Child Safety Seat Law

 Motor vehicle crashes are the number one cause of death of children over the age of six months in the United States.  The proper use of a child safety seat is one of the simplest and most effective methods available for protecting the lives of young children in the event of a motor vehicle crash.  According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 8325 lives of children under age 5 have been saved by the proper use of a child safety seat during the past 30 years.  Properly utilized child safety seats are effective in reducing deaths for infants by 71%.  Research shows that child restraints provide the best protection for all children up to age 8; after age 8 seatbelts provide the best protection.

The New Jersey seatbelt law (N.J.S.A. 39:3-76.2A) requires that every driver transporting children under the age of 8 or weighing less than 80 pounds must secure the child in the rear seat, using a child safety seat or a booster seat.  The law requires drivers of a passenger automobile to secure children between 8 and 18 years old in a properly adjusted and fastened seat belt.  This law is strictly enforced by the Traffic Unit and the entire Raritan Township Police Department.